Reality TV check

Oh dear, reality TV

We’ve all been there, whether we like to admit it or not. I’m talking about reality TV obsessions. From Big Brother to My Kitchen Rules and Keeping up with the Kardashians, reality TV is watched on a daily basis all over the world. But, what is it about these shows that makes us keep coming back?

I’ve given it some thought and I’ve categorised the different types of reality shows.

1. Talent Quest & Singing

I’m talking about Australia’s Got Talent, Australian Idol, The Voice, etcetera etcetera. These shows are highly competitive and usually offer some sort of record deal for the winner of the series. I myself really enjoyed the first season of The Voice, but it’s a one-time only show. People that enjoy the Talent Quest & Singing shows are either really young (13-17 year olds) or middle aged (40-50 year olds). Of course, there are exceptions to this rule. But now you’re wondering where does my age bracket fit into all this? I encourage you to read further.

Susan Boyle made it on the British verson of Australia’a Got Talent, maybe you can too.

2. Food, fat, fit

If you can’t get enough of Lynton’s golden smile on Masterchef, the highly intense drama of My Kitchen Rules (MKR), the impressive upper body strength of the Commando on Biggest Loser, and the extreme bitchiness of Charlotte Dawson on Australia’s Next Top Model (ANTM), then this category is where you fit. Usually for the 20-somethings who waste their time watching reality television as opposed to doing uni work. They’re the shows that you hate to love, but you just can’t help it – you’re hopelessly devoted to those foodies, fatties, and skinny models.

Oh Sarah Murdoch, you make television interesting.

3. Dating

Are you one of those people who are champing at the bit to get a glimpse of the new Aussie series of The Bachelor? Were you absolutely heartbroken when Farmer Wants a Wife was cancelled? Then this is your category. Then you get the particularly trashy shows like Dating in the Dark, that, lets be honest, shouldn’t of ever made it onto the screen. Once again, as a general rule, these shows are targeted towards young females who might be unlucky-in-love and choosing to live vicariously through the lives of other desperate girls. Usually, contestants are “gold diggers” or “hectare hunters” from the city and wanting a “new experience”. Why do we love it so much? It’s bitchy, shallow, and teaches men that it’s ok to treat women that way – choosing someone (usually) based on their looks. BUT, I will back-step for a moment. I do know a couple who found love on one of these shows and are happily married with a family now, so maybe there is a place for it after all

Most scandalous thing that’s ever happened on Farmer Wants a Wife? Sam didn’t like the girl his mum sent, so he told her to go away.

4. Is this really a television show?

I don’t think I need to explain this one. But I will anyway. Keeping up with the Kardashians is probably one of the most successful reality TV series in history. Big Brother is a global phenomenon, and Jersey Shore is painfully on Aussie shores. I’ll admit, I love these sort of tacky and unnecessary TV shows, and I’ll tell you why: they’re dumb. Most people on these shows are stupid enough to volunteer their entire lives to recording this rubbish, and are happy for the entire world to know about their deepest thoughts, and sexual escapades. I love to hate these shows, and I hate to love them too. But because of how ignorant and oblivious these people are, it makes me laugh and wonder to myself whether or not they realise what they’re doing can be seen by the entire world?

Oh, Snooki. That’s all I’m saying.

Anyway, that’s this week’s post. Hopefully you’ve procrastinated as much as I have this evening. Until next time, BYEEEEE!

– Annabelle

Leave a Reply

