Are you a procrastinator?

Are you meant to be doing something else right now? Are you meant to be finishing a project report or presentation? Are you supposed to be writing study notes, or better yet, reading your study notes? Well, you haven’t come to the right place if you want to stop doing that. BUT, you have come to the right place if you want to continue your procrastination.

Why? Because I’m going to give you more of a reason to procrastinate, and then once you’ve finished reading this, you’ll realise you have more important things to be doing and get back to what you’re supposed to be doing.

I’m writing a post about it because I’m currently doing it, and if you’re reading this then you probably are too.

Have you ever used YouTube as an educational tool? A place to learn how to use Excel spreadsheets, enhance your knowledge of the ENTIRE Adobe Suite, or what about trying to find that video the lecturer posted on Blackboard? Now, I can’t be a hypocrite because I do this all the time. But, don’t you hate it when you think you’ve done something totally educational and worth-while with your time and then you see “suggestions” down the side of your YouTube page?

You know the ones I’m talking about…

A screenshot of my YouTube video suggestions.  YouTube knows me too well.

A screenshot of my YouTube video suggestions. YouTube knows me too well.

I’m sorry, but HOW CAN YOU NOT CLICK FURTHER?! That one that says “Friends – HD – It’s not a cat!” is just a total standout for me because I love cats AND Friends. And you know what happens next?

And before you know it, there’s another 5:37 of your valuable time you’ve just wasted watching a mundane video of Rachel blabbing on about a hairless cat. But you can’t help it.

But, until you break that terrible cycle of procrastination, you’re helplessly left trawling through the feeds of YouTube, Reddit, Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, Soundcloud……..

And now you must be desperate because you’ve actually finished reading my blog post for this week. I hate to break it to you, but you really should be doing something more constructive.

– Annabelle

Leave a Reply

