Why do we spend more time capturing the moment than living in it?

As you can see here, technology has really changed the way we experience things. We capture it rather than live it.

As you can see here, technology has really changed the way we experience things. We capture it rather than live it.

 

I know you’ve had this experience before: at a concert, recital, on the street, in private – it’s everywhere and it has become impossible to escape. I’m talking about social media, and more specifically, the accessibility of social media nowadays. 

Now I don’t want to admit it, but I think for the purposes of this post, I will disclose… I went to the Justin Bieber concert on Wednesday night here in Brisbane. I won’t go into specific details as to why I went – it’s not relevant. But that particular crowd of people really drew my attention to how prevalent and instantaneous these social networking interactions are.

Once upon a time, you would take a basic digital camera to a concert and have to wait until the next day to upload them to your computer and then create an album on Facebook or Myspace specifically for that concert. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the importance of social media and I clearly spend approximately 60-80% of my day online – but what ever happened to living in the moment instead of capturing it?

I understand that people want to capture a few photos, but at this Justin Bieber concert (and again, it was probably that demographic) these teenie-boppers were more concerned about getting pictures and videos of JB than actually enjoying the performance. But it wasn’t just the teenie-boppers. My friend who I was with was Snapchatting her life away and ended up having a minute and a half worth of rubbish from JB on her Snapchat Story. I’m sorry, but who wants to watch 1:30 of girls screaming their lungs out? NOBODY CARES.

So now I ask, why is it so important for us to be capturing the moment as opposed to enjoying it?

My theory is this, and feel free to correct me; we care about what people think we’re doing and we want to come across as someone who is sociable and outgoing. Social media allows us to be someone we’re not if we don’t like who we really are. It breaks down barriers that might restrict people from seeing a certain side that might otherwise be hidden in normal social settings.

I’ve noticed that people I used to go to school with who were always quiet and shy now have an insane presence on social media and their Klout score would probably outdo mine! Their online image completely contradicts the image they portrayed at school.

Now don’t go thinking I’m being hypocritical at all – I am well aware of the fact that I am a social-media junkie and I embrace it. But I do know when to draw the line, sit back, and just live in the moment.

But we might as well face it now – social media is the future and I guess the teenie-boppers are adapting it quick smart. They’re probably more intelligent than we realise.

This video was quite interesting and I was shown at the Red PR Red University afternoon how important social media is becoming for marketing strategies also. It’s really insightful

– Annabelle

Leave a Reply

