Intern Life Day 1: Gerard Baden-Clay

Yesterday was my first day on the job with Channel Ten Eyewitness News in Brisbane. My first day was not the usual first day one might expect. I thought I would be pounded with workplace inductions, procedures, OH&S etc. But, to my excitement, I went straight to the supreme court and rubbed shoulders with accused wife killer Gerard Baden-Clay for his pre-trial hearing. The day was a long day, I’ll admit – hearing from a medical examiner and barrister Michael Byrne was definitely a new experience I wouldn’t have got sitting at home. Having never been to court before, I didn’t know what to expect. The whole day was insightful and his actual trial is set for June so keep your eyes on that one. I didn’t get to go to court today for day two of the pre-trial, but I’ve been informed that relationship counselor Carmel Ritchie gave some statements in court today, so keep watching the news for more information.

Gerard Baden-Clay is accused of killing his wide Allison Bden-Clay in April 2012.  Source: brisbanetimes.com.au

Gerard Baden-Clay is accused of killing his wide Allison Baden-Clay in April 2012.
Source: brisbanetimes.com.au

I’ve done some exciting stuff with Lord Mayor Graham Quirk today and I’m looking forward to sharing my video package with you tomorrow. For now, follow me on Twitter (@annabelleamos) to keep up with what’s happening throughout the day, as I will try and Tweet some breaking news stories. And maybe tomorrow I’ll also post some photos of what I’ve been doing during the day.

– Annabelle

Leave a Reply

