Drones and Schapelle Corby: Days four and five as an intern

I realized I never ended up writing about day four and five. So I’ll do them both in one post.

On my forth day, I went out to the airport where we visited the Australian Research Centre for Aerospace Automation (ARCAA). They’re in the process of developing some unmanned aircraft that will greatly benefit search and rescue operations and biodiversity. I also did a piece to camera for this story.

On day five, I was under the impression this would be my last day. The possibly release of Schapelle Corby was on everyone’s radar so the newsroom was buzzing about this all day. To start my morning off, I went to Goodna where a man was told he wasn’t allowed to erect a flag pole in his front yard. I did another piece to camera for this story. After we got this interview, we headed down to Springfield where the Mayor of Ipswich, Paul Pasasle was launching Ipswich’s first Colour Run. I wrote a VO for this piece. Later in the afternoon, I was sent off on my own again to Ballymore where a presser with James Horwill was to take place. The sports journo Rob gave me some questions I had to ask, and I got in and asked the questions the best I could. This didn’t end up going to air though because Schapelle Corby was invading everyone’s screens.

Schapelle Corby signing her parole papers, hiding under a scarf and hat. Source: SMH

Schapelle Corby signing her parole papers, hiding under a scarf and hat. Source: SMH

By the end of the day, I was back at the newsroom cutting grabs for my story when the Unit Manager approached me and said they didn’t have an intern for next week and asked if I would like to come back. I happily obliged. And so began my second week as an intern with Channel 10.

– Annabelle Amos

Leave a Reply

