Internship – Final Reflection

This is my final post in relation to my internship with Channel 10. It is a reflection on my time with them, and how I feel about going ahead with broadcast journalism as my preferred career choice.

Annabelle Amos

Was the internship what you expected?

To be honest, I didn’t have any expectations before heading into the internship because I didn’t want my pre-existing thoughts of television journalism to lead the way. I wanted to learn heaps of new things, and when learning new things, it’s best to not have an opinion about it. In my experience, existing biases can negatively impact a new learning experience.

What was the best part of your internship, and why?
It’s hard to pick a specific element or moment that was the best part of my internship; however, what stood out to me most was that the chief of staff had enough confidence in me to be sent out in the field on my own. This gave me a lot of experience that I wouldn’t have gained in just following a journalist around for the day. Going out on my own with a camera man forced me to ask questions, find a story angle and introduce myself to journalists from other networks – which might come in handy one day in the future.

What was the worst part of your internship, and why?
While there were more positive moments over the two weeks of my internship, the only bad thing about it was that I didn’t get the experience I probably would get if I went to a regional broadcasting centre. I think if I had my time over again (which I will), I would try and work at a regional television station. A lot of the journos in Brisbane had initially started at a regional centre and learnt so much because they just don’t have the same resources as stations in metropolitan areas. These are all good things to consider for next time though.

Did the internship provide you with any insights that you hadn’t anticipated?Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 11.53.47 PM
I didn’t anticipate anything in particular. Although after speaking to a lot of journalists, I found that they’ve all had some form of voice coaching. I’m not oblivious to the fact that every aspiring broadcast journalist does some form of voice coaching, but the most of the journalists’ normal voices were completely different to their regular voices – almost unrecognisable. This was encouraging for me to think that my voice could be trained too. I asked every journalist I went out in the field with, and every single one of them recommended I do some form of voice coaching – even one of the cameramen said I should do a few lessons!

How would you rate your internship on a scale from 1 to 10?
I loved every second of my time with Channel 10, and I would do it all again in a heartbeat. Spending two weeks with a television station has secured my desire to work in television. I haven’t been to any other station yet though, so I will give it a rating of 8/10.

Would you recommend your internship to a friend? Why or why not?
No! I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone because I don’t want other competition hanging around! But, in all seriousness, if someone is interested in working with broadcast journalist of any kind, it is great to check out a television station because you can gain some great experience in writing scripts, choosing grabs, and doing some voice overs – all of which are used in every other form of journalistic medium.

What knowledge and skills did you gain and how do you plan on applying them in the future?

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 11.47.08 PMWhile I thought my script writing skills were well developed, I can see now that I compare myself to a professional that I still have a long way to go in terms of my writing style – particularly for television. I think at uni, we spend a lot more time practicing writing for online publications and newspaper features, and not enough coaching in broadcast journalism. These last couple of weeks has really encouraged me to start looking at ways I can improve my journalistic style in terms of writing and speaking, and that will be my main focus throughout my final year of study. I want me story telling abilities to be at their peak when I graduate, and the best way I can do that is to get some voice coaching, practice reading the news every night in my room, and even making some more stories for JacTV.

Was your workplace supervisor supportive and did the employer make you feel part of the organisation?

Throughout my time at Channel 10, I was made to feel very welcome from the moment I met the security guard to get my pass. Everyone knew my name and I learnt everyone else’s name. There were two chief-of-staffs over the course of my internship, and both of them were really funny and obviously had a lot of trust in me to be able to send me out in the field on my own on not just one, but many occasions. If I was asked back (and I was), I would gladly accept the challenge and tackle it head on.

Thank You

Thank you to Sarah, Casey, Tegan, Rob, Jesse, Dick, Angela, and Felicity for taking me onboard and out in the field with them. I gained so much experience from going to pressers, murder trials, kitchen explosions, and even the police headquarters. And thanks to all the help from the camos Chris, Paul, Kiri and Charchi for filming some great PTCs for me – I couldn’t have done it without you.

Piece to cameras

Any of the piece to cameras I did can be found in the ‘videos‘ section under the ‘portfolio’ tab at the top.

– Annabelle Amos

Annabelle Amos, for Ten Eyewitness News

Annabelle Amos, for Ten Eyewitness News

Leave a Reply

